Re: OC Supervisors debaiting on moving all homeless to Irvine near RR ROW
Author: name withheld by request
Date: 03-31-2018 - 11:08

Until Thursday I worked as a land surveyor. Tuesday morning 06:15 manager told us something was going to happen in civic center Santa Ana where we happened to be doing a large scale topographic mapping job. They looked at me and said stay here and work with another crew. I was driven out to Irvine to work on the "tent city" job. The other guy said it would be good for train watching and it was. This location (33.6691616,-117.7473869) is on the old Marine Base and roughly bounded by the RR and old base street on the south, parts of the old base on the east, ie west of the old RR spur onto the base, a new street called Marine way (with a brand new park on the n/s of Marine) and another new street Ridge Valley on the west. Upon return to the office, I saw the OP for this thread and questioned the 108 acres size. As the OP quoted size from a news report, I asked a manager what size he though the polygon we staked out was. I believe the actual size of the tent city was dramatically less than 108 acres. As it turns out, the OC Supervisors voted not to pursue the tent city in Irvine. The survey crew that went to civic center had lots of people in their way. My last day in the field as a land surveyor was quite pleasant in a big empty field with at least 10 trains heading to or departed from Irvine station.