Re: No more Muggs Away Mooning Amtrak?
Author: local tradition
Date: 04-08-2009 - 11:55

In regards to the Mooning of the Amtrak and "Laguna Niguel City Council Adopts New Ordinances", I would like to first say I have been attending this "local tradition" for about 10 years now and I am only 30. After the outrageous behavior I witnessed last year, I completely agree with the city to still keep the tradition alive, but discourage out of towners (mainly college kids) that are only there to cause problems to not come to this event and participate.

When I saw naked girls in the street w/ beer bongs blocking traffic who had no intentions of mooning the amtrak or probably even know why they were there, I was disgusted and I am not a prude by any means, trust me. This is just the wrong place for that kind of uncontrolled behavior. To many of the locals, and I’m saying there are more people over the age of 55 there than young people until this past year, this is something special to us as a community and to have it ruined by disrespectful “kids” is a slap to our quaint little town.

However, I do not think prohibiting the parking of RV's is the answer to any of the problems - 1. There are bathrooms in the RV's (so that cuts down on people peeing in public) 2. It has kept many people from driving drunk, because they crash in a trailer instead of trying to drive home 3. The people who have the RV's parked on the side of the streets are a big part of how and why the streets get cleaned up the next day. The owners of these RV's respect this tradition and want to see it kept alive and they take the time to clean up the next day.