Re: Freight railroads must keep 2-person crews, according to new federal rule 2 years in the making
Author: Ernest H. Robl
Date: 04-02-2024 - 18:35

Okay, I have never worked directly for a railroad, but, as a journalist, I have spent hundreds of hours traveling on locomotives, both in the U.S. and Europe. For decades, I also always traveled with a scanner in my car and with me when I was on passenger trains. I could give many more paragraphs detailing my experience on and around railroads, and why that is relevant to what follows.

The one person on an engine works in Europe because trains are shorter, there are many more staffed locations along lines, and scheduling of shifts is quite different. (In many cases -- each European country is slightly different -- a locomotive engineer will work a maximum of three to four hours before getting a break -- and then working maybe another three to four hours. However "work" may also include time traveling to the start point of the shift and then traveling home from the destination. European signal systems are also quite different, with much shorter blocks, and safety systems that require constant input from the train operator.

In the U.S., I have seen all sorts of things go very wrong on railroads, in a wide variety of situations -- and often in very desolate territory. (Yes, things go wrong in Europe, too, but the circumstances are mostly different.) It is in these situations that you really need two people on the train. (Yes, they can help double-check each other even in routine circumstances.)