Re: RailAmerica IPO
Author: Mike Derrick
Date: 10-13-2009 - 11:24

Hope you didn't make it too big of a deal-- was listed below talk and has already lost 4% on opening day. I am curious as to what you may see differently than I do regarding RailAmerica that would make this a good investment. I am not a profressional (or even amateur) investor, nor do I have any sort of interest in RailAmerica (stock, former employment, etc.), but rather only general observation from years of following the shortline industry.

I see a highly leveraged company (60% of its worth is debt) with no growth prospect on the horizon. If RA does anything, it needs to shrink, and considerably. Even back to the Marino days, RA was taking on huge amounts of debt in a seemingly endless period of rapid expansion. Rather than single line acquisitions, they took on other smaller holding companies, and in the process, acquired whatever lines those companies had in their portfolios. They have cast off a couple of lines (such as the Virginia Southern), but are still stuck with some underperformers that don't bring a lot of value to the books.