Glascock Smashup
Author: Alan C. Miller
Date: 04-10-2010 - 18:39

http://slideshow-1.relentlesscactus.imageloop.com/

[If the picture doesn't show up, as I've never tried posting one before, you can find it at: [slideshow-1.relentlesscactus.imageloop.com]]

I was passing by Oakland at 2:00am, and thought I'd see if I could catch the local recently in the paper as having re-shifted to a southern access on Glascock Street, irritating a few of the new condo owners. As luck would have it, the local showed at 2:10. I followed it down Glascock not realizing it wasn't like Jack London, and as I passed parked cars a few inches too far off the curb, the grain cars were just inches from my window. Flares were laid out at street crossings. The train paused and started across Park/29th/23rd. I went across to catch it, but later realized it went into Con-Agra without crossing any streets.

When I came back onto Park around the corner from Kennedy, the tail of the train was stopped across Park not more than a few hundred feet ahead, the last car across the NB/EB lanes. Car were waiting, turning through 7-11, reversing on the one-way street, many probably drunk being it was just after 2am, a semi-truck came and stopped, then a dualie gas tanker. Cars were coming and going in all directions. There was no flare in the street, this was the main crossing to the bridge, it was fairly dark, and the rail car across 23rd was a mineral brown hopper. The train had been there at least 20 minutes when I left. My thought at the time was this was one of the most poorly thought out rail-public road safety issues I had ever seen, a complete traffic cluster-F, and an accident waiting to happen.