Re: Sacramento Northern 712 and other questions
Author: Eugene Vicknair
Date: 08-12-2016 - 17:15

Okay, I'll answer as best as I can considering:
- I am a member of the FRRS Board of Directors
- I am NOT a diesel mechanic
- I am the primary person who spent 5 years trying to find a museum to take SP 4450
- I assisted in both the move of SN 712 from RVJ and the move of SP 4450 from Hunters Point

The assessment of SN 712's condition is fairly accurate from my non mechanic understanding. She needs engine work and the traction motor plus other items, including batteries. We HAVE acquired a traction motor for her, but our derrick, which is required for the change out, is under repair.

We have several engines needing traction motor swaps, so the plan is, once the derrick is back in full and safe operation, to perform the swaps together (we have about 6 traction motors needing changing).

The 712 is regularly cleaned and she's been waxed and her paint touched up at least twice since we received her. She has also been used DIC for display trains, the most recent being the UP Historical Society visit about a week ago, when she was used on a photo freight along with WP 707.

The 712 is in no danger of ever being scrapped. We consider her a major part of the collection, being one of the final SN locomotives. Also, she will be maintained in her SN identity. Plans are in the works to paint SN caboose 1642 in the green and yellow scheme it wore during 712's service and have them as a pair. SN 712 is regularly toured by visitors and pairing her with the 1642 would make a great display.